Jant-bi

The rooster is dead (1999)

Choregraphy : Susanne Linke, Germany et Avi Kaiser, Israel

German Dance-Theatre confronts African dance, a piece for eight men “The rooster is dead”. Choreography Susanne Linke (Germany) and Avi Kaiser (Israel) / Jant-Bi Company (Senegal). Length : approx. 70 minutes without interval.

This choreographic creation by Susanne Linke assisted by Avi Kaiser, searches for the place that man occupies in African society, and beyond, in Western society. Given that he is no longer in strict relation with the fundamentals of life, his environment (earth and water), he finds himself separated from his own perception and conscience of the body. The more man ignores his real nature, the more he becomes dependant.

Under his clothes, made to measure, beats his heart; under the sand runs the water of life. Power, as a physical force, as an intellectual, mystical and secular force, is the pivot of this piece. The “willingness of force” of the human being is such that he can forget his own nature, his real pulsations, which lead him to be separated from himself, from others and from his environment. But during certain rare privileged moments, when the shell crumbles, the mask disappears and man “is”. Besides the symbiosis between African dance and the German Dance-Theatre, the African-Western musical fusion and the creation of sound spaces by Etienne Schwarcz plays a predominant role. The “rooster is dead” was created for eight dancers in 1999. Since then, the Company has successfully participated in different festivals and has performed in many of the best theatres in Europe and the United States where it impressed the public by its quality and by the dancer’s extraordinary energy.

Afficher
Cacher

Jant-bi

Le coq est mort (1999)

Chorégraphie de Susanne Linke, Allemagne et Avi Kaiser, Israël

 

Le danse-théâtre allemand rencontre la danse africaine, une pièce pour 8 hommes “Le coq est mort”. Chorégraphie Susanne Linke (Allemagne) et Avi Kaiser (Israël) / Compagnie Jant-Bi (Sénégal). Durée : environ 70mn sans intermission

Cette création chorégraphique de Susanne Linke assistée par Avi Kaiser, recherche l’espace qu’occupe l’homme dans la société africaine, et, au delà, dans la société occidentale. Etant donné qu’il n’est plus en rapport étroit avec les fondements de sa vie, son environnement (terre et eau), il se trouve séparé de sa propre perception et conscience du corps. Plus l’homme ignore sa vraie nature, plus il en devient dépendant.

Sous l’habit, taillé sur mesure, bat le cœur; sous le sable coule l’eau de la vie. Le pouvoir, en tant que force physique, en tant que force intellectuelle, mystique et profane est le pivot de cette pièce. La “volonté de puissance” de l’être humain est telle qu’il en arrive à oublier sa propre nature, ses vraies pulsions, ce qui a comme conséquence de le séparer de lui-même, des autres et de son environnement. Mais il arrive qu’en des rares moments privilégiés, se brise la coquille, tombe le masque et l’homme “est”. Outre la symbiose entre la danse africaine et le danse-théâtre allemand, la fusion musicale Afrique-Occident et la création des espaces sonores d’Etienne Schwarcz jouent un rôle prépondérant. « Le coq est mort » a été réalisée pour huit danseurs en 1999. Depuis, la Compagnie a participé avec succès à différents festivals et a été programmée dans des théâtres de premier rang en Europe et aux Etats-Unis où elle a impressionné le public par la qualité et par l’extraordinaire énergie de ses danseurs.

Afficher
Cacher