Workshops

International workshop

The next workshops

Thinking and dancing differently the traditional dances from Africa

 

WHY TO DO THE WORKSHOP ?
OBJECTIVES
• The Ecole des Sables organizes quality workshops with dance teachers whose skills and quality are internationally recognized.

• To look at dance from a new angle and enrich the body language and expression

• The need for deconstruction of traditional dance practices for the establishment of new perspectives and usage.

• The opportunity to discover new dances offered by the visiting professors but also benefit from the sharing of knowledge, especially by the African dancers who will offer a traditional dance from their countries to the trainees.

• To know more about the history, the context and the reasons for existence of these dances.

• Benefit from seminars on the history of dances in Africa, the theory of aesthetic approaches.

• Connect with the particular energy of dances of Africa and integrate them into one’s work

• Stimulate new creativity through approaches based on the fusion of telluric energy and movement.

• By discovering another culture, understanding better and getting closer to one’s own culture

• Have simply “fun”.

THE PARTICIPANTS
The workshop is for professional dancers and advanced dancers from Africa, the African Diaspora and the rest of the world; researchers and academics, as well as professionals in other fields using dance for professional reasons (dance therapy, music therapy, singers, etc.) may also register on the condition of having as minimum an intermediate level (at least 3 years of regular and weekly dance practice).

THE PLACE
The Ecole des Sables is located near Toubab Dialaw, a fishing village 53 kilometers south of Dakar, at the foot of a lagoon between ocean and savannah. The Center has two dance studios (400 m2 and 280 m2), 24 bungalows for trainee accommodation, a restaurant, a conference room and an infirmary.

THE COST OF THE WORSHOP (6 Weeks)
The workshop costs 2244 Euros including:
Accommodation: 10 Euros / day = 420 euros
Catering: 12 Euros / day = 504 Euros
The 210 hours of lessons: 6 Euros / h = 1260 Euros
Taxi from the airport to the school: 60 Euros

Travel and compulsory travel insurance are the responsibility of the participant.

INSCRIPTION
Latest by May 15th, 2019 at the following email address: stage-workshop@jantbi.org by sending a CV, a motivation letter, the registration form , a recent passport photo and, if possible, a short video of a one-minute solo (YouTube link).

The registration form is downloadable here : http://ecoledessables.org/en/2019/01/16/stage-international-du-17-juillet-au-27-aout-2019/

Dance workshop with the Great Ladies of Dances from Africa
January 31st to February 13rd 2019

 

 

The Center – Since 1998, Ecole des Sables organizes, on a regular basis, dance workshops for dancers from Africa and elsewhere. The Center contributes to the development of the African Contemporary Dance and is a real platform for encounters and exchanges.

The Workshop – Dancers from all around the world with different profiles will come participate to this unique opportunity of dancing with the key figures of the affirmation of contemporary dance in Africa. These world-known dance referents who have guided several generations of dancers worldwide will be teaching together at Ecole des Sables.

The Participants – The workshop is addressed to dancers of the world interested in African contemporary dance and in living a unique experience at the Ecole des Sables.

The Great Ladies :

Léna BLOU ( Guadeloupe) ;  Nora CHIPAUMIRE ( Zimbabwe)

Chantal LOIAL (Guadeloupe) ; Mamela NYAMZA (South Africa)

The Program – 2 weeks. 6 hours dance classes by day. Saturday mornings are dedicated to research and exploration workshops. 1 excursion is planned on Sunday.

The Place – Ecole des Sables is located near Toubab Dialaw, a fishermen’s village 53 kilometers south of Dakar, close to a lagoon between ocean and savannah. The Center holds 2 dance studios (400 m2 and 280 m2), 24 bungalows for accommodation, a restaurant, a conference room and an infirmary.

The price – The workshop costs 850 € including accommodation and meals at the center facilities for 2 weeks, transfer from and to the airport, and 60 hours of dance classes. The travel related costs and a compulsory health international insurance are to be covered by the participants.

 

Inscription – Deadline January 20th 2019

Please send us a presentation letter and the registration form filled in and signed to the email address: Stage-workshop@jantbi.org  

(Find attached the registration form. It is also available in our website (www.ecoledessables.org )

(PDF, 99KB)

(PDF, 133KB)


Testimonies

Laylie Weidman, USA
It is only now that I realize how my way of dancing and my choreographic ideas have evolved. This workshop strengthened my body – my legs, my trunk, my arms – and widened my concentration and focus capacities. I acquired a new energy which I find exciting to explore. I also feel a stronger connection to the earth, to the space around, and of course to music.

Aida Colmenero Diaz, Spain
What I learned from you was a revelation for me. I learned how to work from materials like joy, elegance, and from the relation between the body and nature, life and the sun. I also learned a lot on my own identity. This school is a paradise. It is so wonderful to work here.

Miranda Wheen, USA
I have the feeling that now I have a wider view of Africa and that my body is full of new sensations and new paths. This workshop provided me with new trajectories, both personally and professionally.

Jamila Rodrigues, Brazil
Meeting with dancers from all over the world was an incredible experience. It was interesting to see how people respected their social and religious differences and to feel the harmony that existed within the group.

Gallery

Afficher
Cacher

Formations

Stage international

Les prochains stages

Penser et danser autrement les danses traditionnelles d’Afrique, du 17 juillet au 27 aout 2019

 

POURQUOI FAIRE LE STAGE ?
LES OBJECTIFS
• L’École des Sables organise des stages de qualité avec des professeurs de danse dont les compétences sont reconnues internationalement.
• Regarder la danse sous un nouvel angle et enrichir le langage et l’expression corporels
• Le besoin de déconstruction des pratiques de danses traditionnelles pour la mise en place de nouvelles perspectives et utilisations.
• L’opportunité de découvrir de nouvelles danses offertes par les professeurs invités mais également bénéficier du partage des savoirs, notamment des danseurs africains qui offriront une danse traditionnelle de leurs pays aux stagiaires.
• Connaître davantage l’histoire, le contexte et les raisons d’exister de ces danses.
• Bénéficier de séminaires sur l’histoire des danses en Afrique, la théorie des approches esthétiques.
• Se connecter avec l’énergie particulière des danses de l’Afrique et les intégrer dans son travail
• Stimuler une nouvelle créativité par des approches basées sur la fusion de l’énergie tellurique et du mouvement.
• En découvrant une autre culture, comprendre et se rapprocher de sa propre culture
• Avoir « fun » tout simplement.

LES PARTICIPANTS
Le stage s’adresse aux danseurs professionnels et aux danseurs de niveau avancé de l’Afrique, de la Diaspora africaine et du reste du monde ; les chercheurs et universitaires, ainsi que les professionnels dans d’autres domaines utilisant la danse pour des raisons professionnelles (danse thérapie, musique thérapie, acteurs chanteurs, etc.) peuvent également s’inscrire à conditions d’avoir un niveau minimal intermédiaire (au moins 3 ans de pratique régulière et hebdomadaire de la danse).

LE LIEU
L’Ecole des Sables est située près de Toubab Dialaw, un village de pêcheurs à 53 kilomètres au sud de Dakar, au pied d’une lagune entre océan et savane. Le Centre dispose de deux salles de danse (400 m2 et 280 m2), de 24 bungalows pour le logement des stagiaires, d’un restaurant, d’une salle de conférence et d’une infirmerie.

LE COÛT DU STAGE (6 semaines)
Le stage coûte 2244 Euros comprenant :
L’hébergement : 10 Euros/ jour =420 Euros
La restauration : 12 Euros/ jour=504 Euros
Les 210 heures de cours : 6 Euros/h= 1260 Euros
Le taxi de l’aéroport à l’Ecole : 60 Euros
Le voyage et une assurance voyage obligatoire sont à la charge du stagiaire.

INSCRIPTION
Au plus tard le 15 mai 2019 à l’adresse électronique suivante:
stage-workshop@jantbi.org, en envoyant un C.V., une lettre de motivation, la fiche d’inscription, une photo d’identité récente et, si possible, une courte vidéo d’un solo d’une minute (lien YouTube).

Le formulaire d’inscription est téléchargeable ici: http://ecoledessables.org/2019/01/16/stage-international-du-17-juillet-au-27-aout-2019/

 

Stage de danse avec les Grandes Dames des Danses d’Afrique
31 Janvier – 13 février 2019

 

L’Ecole des Sables – Depuis 1998, l’Ecole des Sables organise régulièrement des stages de danse réunissant des danseurs d’Afrique et du monde entier.  Le Centre contribue ainsi au développement de la Danse Africaine Contemporaine et constitue une plateforme de rencontres et d’échanges.

Le Stage – Des danseurs du monde entier de différents profils viendront participer à cette opportunité unique de danser avec les personnalités clés de l’affirmation de la danse contemporaine en Afrique. De véritables références artistiques pour des générations de danseurs et de danseuses dans le monde seront réunies  à l’Ecole des Sables.

Les Participants – Le stage s’adresse aux passionnés la danse de tous les niveaux confondus qui souhaitent vivre une expérience unique de danse et de partage à l’Ecole des Sables.

Les Grandes Dames:

Léna BLOU ( Guadeloupe) ; Nora CHIPAUMIRE ( Zimbabwe)

Chantal LOIAL (Guadeloupe) ; Mamela NYAMZA (Afrique du Sud)

Le Programme – 2 semaines. 6 heures de cours par jour. Les samedis matins sont consacrés aux ateliers de recherche et d’expérimentation. 1 excursion optionnelle est prévue pour le groupe.

Le lieu – L’Ecole des Sables est située près de Toubab Dialaw, un village de pêcheurs à 53 kilomètres au sud de Dakar, au pied d’une lagune entre océan et savane. Le Centre dispose de 2 salles de danse (400 m2 et 280 m2), de 24 bungalows pour le logement des stagiaires, d’un restaurant, d’une salle de conférence et d’une infirmerie.

Le coût du stage – Le Stage a un coût de 850 €. Le prix inclut l’hébergement et la restauration dans le centre pendant 2 semaines, le transfert de l’aéroport à l’Ecole, et les 60 heures de cours de danse. Les frais de voyage international et l’assurance voyage (obligatoire) sont à la charge du participant.

L’Inscription –Date limite le 20 janvier 2019.

Envoyer une lettre de présentation ainsi que la fiche d’inscription remplie et signée à l’adresse mail : stage-workshop@jantbi.org

(Trouvez en pièce jointe la fiche d’inscription. Elle est aussi téléchargeable sur notre site www.ecoledessables.org)

(PDF, 107KB)

(PDF, 139KB)


témoignages

Laylie Weidman, USA
C’est seulement maintenant que je vois comment ma manière de danser et mes idées chorégraphiques ont changé. Ce stage a renforcé mon corps –mes jambes, mon tronc, mes bras- et élargi mon sens de la concentration et de l’attention. J’ai acquis une nouvelle force qu’il me semble excitant d’explorer. Je sens également une plus grande connexion à la terre, à l’espace autour de moi, et bien sûr à la musique.

Aida Colmenero Diaz, Espagne
Ce que j’ai appris de vous a été une révélation pour moi. J’ai appris comment travailler à partir de la joie, de l’élégance et du rapport entre le corps et la nature, la vie, le soleil. J’ai aussi beaucoup appris sur ma propre identité. Cette école est un paradis. C’est tellement merveilleux de travailler ici.

Miranda Wheen, Etats-Unis
Je sens que mes yeux sont maintenant largement ouverts sur l’Afrique et que mon corps est plein de nouvelles sensations et de nouvelles voies. Ce stage m’a apporté de nouvelles trajectoires aussi bien professionnelles que personnelles.

Jamila Rodrigues, Brésil
Rencontrer des danseurs du monde entier a été une expérience extraordinaire. C’était très intéressant de voir les différentes manières sociales et religieuses des personnes et j’ai senti ce respect général pour toutes ces différences et une grande harmonie dans le groupe.

Galerie

 

Afficher
Cacher