Presentation

The school

A house for dance in Africa

 

L’Ecole des Sables, an INTERNATIONAL CENTRE FOR TRADITIONAL AND CONTEMPORARY AFRICAN DANCES, is also a school for theoretical and practical teaching, a laboratory for research, and a space for meetings and exchanges, conferences and artistic residences.

The School is dedicated to professional training for dancers from all over Africa in traditional and contemporary African dances. Its objectives are to professionalize African dancers, allow them to be able to live from their art, encourage communication and collaboration between dancers, choreographers and companies from Africa and with the rest of the world; in short, to develop and promote contemporary African dance.

Since 1998, school regularly organizes professional training workshops gathering dancers and choreographers from Africa, the African Diaspora and all over the world.

It was created in 1998 by Germaine Acogny, considered as the Mother of Contemporary African Dance, and her husband Helmut Vogt. Germaine Acogny, former director of Mudra Afrique (1977-1982), a panafrican school founded by Leopold Sedar Senghor and Maurice Bejart, with the objective to give a professional education to African dancers and citizens to make them become responsible and autonomous through the art.

Afficher
Cacher

Présentation

L’ecole

une maison pour la danse en Afrique

 

L’Ecole des Sables, centre international de formation et de création en danses traditionnelles et contemporaines d’Afrique, est à la fois une école d’enseignement théorique et pratique, un laboratoire de recherches, et un lieu de rencontres et d’échanges, de conférences et de résidences artistiques.

L’Ecole œuvre pour la formation professionnelle des danseurs de toute l’Afrique en danses traditionnelles et contemporaines d’Afrique. Elle a pour objectifs de professionnaliser les danseurs africains, de leur permettre de vivre de leur métier, d’encourager la communication et la collaboration entre les danseurs, chorégraphes et compagnies d’Afrique et du Monde entier ; enfin de développer et promouvoir une danse africaine contemporaine.

Elle a été créée en 1998 par la danseuse et chorégraphe Germaine Acogny, considérée comme la mère de la danse africaine contemporaine, et son mari Helmut Vogt. Germaine Acogny, fondatrice-directrice de Mudra Afrique (1977-1982) avec Maurice Béjart, s’est très jeune, fixée comme objectif de former des danseurs et des citoyens africains, responsables et autonomes à travers l’art.

L’Ecole organise régulièrement des stages de formations professionnelles réunissant des danseurs et chorégraphes d’Afrique, de sa diaspora et du monde entier.

Afficher
Cacher